monday grumps: no more ticky-ticky

02/08/2010 § Leave a comment

Life holds its breath. It goes red in the face, slowly exhaling, forgetting to let air in until necessary, until the last moments when, dizzy and faint, it involuntarily gasps, sucking with lips opened like a fish thrown back into the sea, or a swimmer jumping from the water in mid-butterfly stroke. The intake is fleeting. But, it is enough to survive submerged.

Coming home today was dizzying. Not only was I hungry, blood sugar plummeting, not only did I want to rush home and see Tala off, not only were there menial things, like emails and Facebook, to catch up on, not only did I want to chat with Tony and his mom, not only did I want to see L, not only did I have to pack for a night of adventures at Unicamp with STB and my ladies, but I wanted a chance to sit still. I wanted a shot of fresh air.

Yesterday, I had a chance to sit by myself in the park and indulge in R&R — reading and reclining. Today, was and will not be such a day. Such are most days and usually I feel inclined towards them. I think that this is me just fooling my self. I like breaks.

So it, this ticky-ticky, is annoying me. I am going to go and breathe.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading monday grumps: no more ticky-ticky at hi ho..

meta

