i remember this feeling.

17/11/2011 § 3 Comments

My joie de vivre.

Otherwise known as, my priorities.

Last night, our little group we called it early after drinking red wine and watching Harry Potter: The Deathly Hollows Part II in HD on our rather large flat-screen t.v. The movie was meant to be shown in theatres in 3D, but I had missed it.

I was busy. I kept saying.

There were tight turns on roller-coaster tracks and flight-simulated dragon rides. At the end, and I give nothing away, the flakes of Lord Voldemort’s vile skin float towards the viewer. The experience, 2D, was epic, but I shoulda seen it the way it was meant to be seen.

Woulda, coulda.

I remember seeing a girl with a rather bold tattoo on her shoulder. It said something to the effect of: “No fear, no regrets.” In the moment, I thought it was silly to get such a phrase permanently inked on one’s body. For a moment, my judgments became self-righteous, I would never do such a thing. But then again, you never know. For her, maybe it was never meant to be seen, except in the context of summer dresses in humid weather while travelling (thus, the positioning on her shoulder).

This morning, I woke up after many hours of rest. I had slept the way I used to sleep. There were no pangs to wakeupwakeupwakeup. Where would I go, anyways? Instead, I made some drip-coffee, reflected a little on watching Harry Potter in 2D, wondering if I had missed something epic by not seeing it the way it was meant to be seen, if I shoulda said “no” to one plan and opted for a theatrical experience in the summer. And then I reveled in the fact that perhaps I, the viewer, was meant to watch it with a glass of wine in her hand, amidst friends and twenty steps to some much needed bedtime. Would it have been any other way?

Coulda. But, I don’t want to change this feeling I have right now. The movie was awesome.

 

 

§ 3 Responses to i remember this feeling.

  • Sammy says:

    I took you to go see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 it was a nice sisterly night together!

  • yeah, you know what’s crazy? I was still in such a whirlwind post-trip funk that I couldn’t remember seeing it… so craze. Would love to see another movie with you soon!

  • Sammy says:

    I would love that as well! lots of great movies have come out 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading i remember this feeling. at hi ho..

meta

