the holidays.

22/12/2011 § Leave a comment

Merry Christmas, Joyeux Noel, Feliz Navidad.

Celebrating one year of growth and birth.

Waking up to the tick-tock of the clock, I find myself wrapped in the arms of Father Time.

I remember renewing my Health Card, once, just outside of Guelph. The forms asked me the date and at the time I did not carry a calendar or phone:

“Excuse me, sir, what day is it?”

“Why, young lady, it is Thursday.”

“Yes, but what is the date?”

“You must be a happy person, because they say the happiest people don’t know what date it is…”

It made me wonder if that was true, if brushing off two millenia of conventional time would mean I was a happier person…

Right now, I have two schedules that I try to balance. Three and four if you count friends and living a normal life of laundry and dust-bunnies. I keep hearing “hard-working” and how “people need someone like that” and I still wonder if that is just my merriment of existence and the hope of someday moving back to South America.

I heard on the CBC radio program, Q, an interview with Jian Ghomeshi. He was asking a Law School drop-out what made him choose the life of a comedian. And, I paraphrase:

“Dread.”

Everyday, he woke up with dread of going to his job, his office, his tranquil life instead of hanging out and joking with friends. Then, one day he read a quote from Ghandi:

“What you do in life will be insignificant, but it’s important you do it.”

Perhaps that is where happiness falls into the bend of space and time.

So much time has passed, 26 years, and each day I take as it comes. I wake with no dread, only questions of meaning and wonderment whether it would be any other way. This is the time of year that usually brings people together for cheers and saludos.

As always, a Happy Christmas to all wrapped with bows of warm, fuzzy hugs.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the holidays. at hi ho..

meta

